What’s for Dinner? Quirky, Squirmy Poems from the Animal World

What’s for Dinner? Quirky, Squirmy Poems from the Animal World by Katherine B. Hauth and David Clark is a nominee for the 2012-13 South Carolina Children’s Book Award. For that reason alone, I will promote this book, but I have to say that I’m not a huge fan. (It probably didn’t help that I read the book right before lunch.) I’m not a big fan of most poetry anyway, and when poems are about the disgusting eating habits of animals, I’m even less of a fan.

My students will devour this book (pun intended). It will be a good addition to animal research projects and could encourage students to write their own poems about animal or plant life cycles.

Leave a Reply

