Amazing, Beguiling, Curious: 26 Fascinating Creatures

As an elementary school librarian, I have a special fondness for ABC books, and this one was no exception. What is exceptional about this book, however, is the information on each of the animals presented and the woodcut illustrations of each animal. I definitely learned some things I didn’t know before, and I think my students will, too.

I also appreciated the research questions at the end of each page. These questions encourage young readers to keep looking for more information on these “Amazing, Beguiling, and Curious” animals. The animal research guide at the end of the book was also especially helpful.

Additionally, I liked how the author/illustrator mentioned the connection between art and science. “They both help you see and appreciate the incredible world all around you.” In the future, I hope to use this book with my school’s art teacher and various classroom teachers. Perhaps my students can create their own versions of this great book.

Leave a Reply

